Scientific Advisory Board

My Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) provides me with strategic guidance and direction as needed and applicable in an effort to solidify my position as a global leader in offering my clients the most sound and rigorous counsel on complex methodological, analytical, and scientific matters.

Founding Fellow – Dr. Gunnar Andersson

Gunnar-Andersson_bwGunnar B. J. Andersson, M.D., Ph.D. is The Ronald L. DeWald, M.D. Professor and Chairman Emeritus of the Department of Orthopedic Surgery at Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, Illinois. Dr. Andersson was Chairman of the Department of Orthopedic Surgery from 1994 to 2008. His clinical area of interest is the spine (neck and back) while his research interests are disc degeneration, epidemiology and occupational biomechanics.

Dr. Andersson is a past President of the Orthopaedic Research Society, the International Society for the Study of the Lumbar Spine and the American Academy of Disability Evaluating Physicians and is currently Treasurer of the International Society for the Advancement of Spine Surgery. He has been a council member of the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases at NIH, Chairman of the Research Committee at the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) and a member of three Institute of Medicine committees. Dr. Andersson is a Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering.

He was the second recipient of the Muybridge Medal from the International Society of Biomechanics and the third recipient of the ISSLS Stryker Spine Lifetime Achievement Award from the International Society for the Study of the Lumbar Spine. He has received the Kappa Delta Award from the AAOS/ORS, the Freedom of Movement Award from the Arthritis Foundation and is a recipient of the Trustee Medal from Rush University Medical Center. Dr. Andersson has been named Best Doctor and Chicago Top Physician for several years. He is a member of 15 editorial boards, a deputy editor for Spine, founding editor of Contemporary Spine Surgery and an associate editor of Clinical Biomechanics. He is the author of over 320 original publications, over 160 books and book chapters and over 460 abstracts.